Andover wins Station of the Year Award
13 Sep 2001
Andover Station has won the prestigious Station of the Year Award, beating off competition from the 2,500 stations across the country.
The busy Hampshire station on the Waterloo-Exeter line impressed judges of the national competition who described it as 'spot on' and an 'example to follow'.
They liked the attention to detail which included lots of leaflets and information, bright floral displays and a neat and tidy environment.
They said it was a tribute to the performance of the total workforce of Five - made up of three ticket office staff and two platform attendants.

"I use the station regularly, and congratulate it on the award which is well deserved."

(See September 21st News story for pictures)

A spokesman for the National Rail Awards 2001 Judges said., "Everything was perfect with well-presented notices, signs, train and bus timetables, a streetmap, well-filled leaflet racks, plenty of well-sited seats and litter bins, and above all no graffiti and no litter."
"Andover offers a pleasant, welcoming and safe environment with a visible staff presence. It is an example for other stations to follow."
Managing Director Andrew Haines said.. "This is a wonderful accolade for Andover Station and an acknowledgement to all its staff of their consistently hard work.
"The judges were impressed with every aspect of the station, from the tidiness of the place, to the selection of leaflets and local information to the beautiful flower display,5 which really brighten the place up."
The award, presented in association with Railtrack, was accepted on behalf of the station by Rob McDonald, platform attendant at Andover. Rob was recently honoured as the winner of South West Trains' own Station Pride 'Extra Mile Award', while Andover also won the Best Effort at a Mainline Station category.
South West Trains was also shortlisted in the Sir Robert Horton Award for the Most Significant Contribution to Safety on Britain's Railways for its work on the safety and security of passengers and staff.
Back to index. Index Back to index.
Back to index.

Copyright Sir George Young Bt. 2015